Kundalini Yoga and Seven Chakras as per ancient Yoga in India

Seven Chakras

There are 84 chakras and 7 major chakra’s. Chakra means wheel, energy centre or awareness centre. When a chakra is blocked it’s moving to slow, when it’s moving to slow the rest will also move slow. If a chakra doesn’t move you die because also the rest will stop moving.

A chakra rotates. When you have more lunar inside you it will rotate anti clockwise, if you have more solar in you the chakra will rotate clockwise.

The 7 Major Chakra’s

1 Mooladhara:

Mool = root, Adhar = support

The mooladhar chakra is situated at the base of the spine.

Element = earth

Colour = red (lava red, burning red) because it reflects the color of the element.

Sound = Lam

Awareness level = survival (food, sex, stability)

2 Swadhishthana

Swa = self, Adhishthan = self-identity/self-image, your home

Positi the belly bottom.

Element = water

Colour = orange (it reflects the 1st chakra – red, and the 3th chakra – yellow)

Sound = Vam

Awareness level = desire (sexuality, creativity). When the Kundalini goes through this chakra you are free of desires.

3 Manipura

Pur = place, Mani = lustrous gem/shiny gem

Element = fire

Colour = yellow

Sound = Ram

Awareness level = personal power, self-esteem, wilfulness and energy. Feels responsible for his own actions

4 Anahata

An = un , ahat = hurt, so it means unhurt. This chakra can’t be hurt, this chakra stands for Universal Love.

Element = air

Colour = green

Sound = Yam

Issues = ego, passion, anger, love, confidence

5 Vishudha

Vi = extra, Shud = pure

Element = space

Colour = bright blue

Sound = ham

Awareness level = giving (not taking)

6 Ajna (pronunciation Agya)

Anja = to commant (seat of the mind)

Element = energy & matter

Colour = indigo blue

Sound = om

Awareness level = knowledge (of truth), perceiving, analysing, command, seat of free will

7 Sahastrara

Sahastrara = 1000’s

Colour = violet

Sound = aum

Awareness level = centre of spirituality, enlightenment, dynamic thought and energy.

Kundalini Yoga

Kundalini Yoga focuses on exercises that awakens the sleeping kundalini shakti. Kundalini shakti is three and half coiled highly concentrated cosmic energy in our body resting at the base of the spine.

In Kundalini Yoga we try to purify the nadis. A nadi can be thought of as a channel (in the astral body). As per Kundalini Yoga there are three nadis: Ida, Pingala, and Sushumna. Ida starts in the right testicle and goes to the left nostril. Ida is associated with lunar energy (and the female side); cool, creative, emotion. Pingla starts in the left testicle and goes to the right nostril, mirroring the ida. Pingla is associated with sonar energy (the male side); warm, intellect, logic, aggression, passion.

Sushumna runs along the spinal cord in the center, through the seven chakras – Mooladhar at the base, and Sahasrara at the top (or crown)of the head. It’s at the base of this sushumna where the Kundalini lies coiled, in a dormant or sleeping state. The Kundalini awakens when the sushumna opens.

As per classical Kundalini yoga texts one has to eveolve before you can awaken the Kundalini.

About Author

Leave A Reply