Fake Porn Links Posted on Facebook How Safe Are You?

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

So what exactly is this scam? Is it a Virus or a worm which is present on Facebook. These kinds of link have been around for more than 2-3 years now and initially it was “koobface” worm which was blamed for such attack. It posted messages and also tricked users into downloading malicious codes on their PC by pretending to either update codecs or Flash. But it was plugged by facebook and its occurrence was greatly reduced. But somewhere around in November there was widespread attacks on Facebook with millions of users getting affected.  This time it is being  spread via a “linkspam virus” which tempts members to click on a seemingly innocuous story link. Users Paste Malicious codes on their browser which seems like a genuine link. This script pastes content on their friend’s wall even without informing them about the same. I have seen links posted by teacher’s on walls of student. Imagine the embarrassment!

However one interesting twist here is that this time around Hackers are also using “Clickjam” – a technique by which users themselves share video on their wall.

screenshot218_1.jpg

This is how this works. You see a link on Facebook and you click and you are taken to a youtube link. Before you can view this video, they ask you to click on “jaa”. However “jaa” is finnish for sharing and you have given permission to share content on your wall. On top of that your are also tricked into downloading malicious content on your PC.

What to do?

The best thing to do is remain careful and selective. Facebook is a social networking site and we all are habitual of clicking on links shared by our friends. But we need to be a little more careful in clicking such links. Also you should see the permissions you are giving to the apps and review them. One more thing is that if you get a dialogue box saying you to do something before you can watch a video- it is almost 100 % a malicious link. Do not click on that link. Now if you have been attacked and you have unintentionally crapped your friend’s wall- the least you can do is to post a message on your wall saying about the attack and saying sorry!

Ok what to do when you have such rogue apps installed?

  • Remove any content the rogue app posted on your wall and also your friend’s wall. This should be the first step as this will stop further spread for the virus

  • Next, You need to have a crack down at the app. Go to the Account Settings  menu in the upper right side of your facebook page. From the  drop-down menu, go to privacy settings and from privacy settings go to Apps and Websites tab and click edit settings.

  • Here you will see a list of all the apps installed. Delete the Rogue and Malicious apps form this page. It is  a good idea to occasionally check this place for new apps. Also you can revoke permissions given to apps from here

Remember, Facebook due to its 800 million+ users and viral nature is increasingly becoming a target for hackers. But facebook is taking such threats seriously now and we might see some major response from them very soon. Till then Be careful and Be Safe. 

Share.

About Author

Leave A Reply