Kelly Clarkson at Her Strongest in New Album

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Just like other artists in the music industry, American Idol alumni Kelly Clarkson has had her shares of ups and downs. Her first two albums, Thankful and Breakaway, have brought her commercial and critical success and upped her potential to equal the diva status of artists like Mariah Carey and Celine Dion. Then came her third studio album, My December, which offered just a handful of high-charting singles due to controversies with her record label. Clarkson came back in full force with her 2009 record named All I Ever Wanted, with the catchy lead single ‘My Life Would Suck Without You’. Now the singer is aiming for another shot at the Grammys with the release of her fifth studio album, Stronger.

I believe the album aplty named, since most of the songs channels more pop-rock strength than all her previous songs. I wan’t that keen when the lead single, ‘Mr. Know It All’ came out, since it didn’t really appeal to my pop music senses, but when I listened to the whole album (and got LSS after playing it repeatedly), I was drawn more and more to the song. All the songs are worth listening to including ‘Einstein’, a pop-rock version of the simple mathematical formula explaning how ‘dumb + dumb = you (most boyfriends, not you dear reader 🙂 )’, and the rock-driven ‘Let Me Down’, which is just another song that would make you bang your head back and forth in time with the killer guiter riffs. But don’t think that Clarkson only sings rock-oriented themes in the album. Being one of many diva heiresses gets her to show off her octaves and her sensitive side as well, in songs such as ‘Standing In Front Of You’, ‘The War Is Over’, and ‘Breaking Your Own Heart’. Also ear-worthy are the inspirational ‘The Sun Will Rise (with Kara Diouguardi belting her pipes out, go girl!)’ and an Adele-styled bonus track, ‘Why Don’t You Try’.

What’s wonderful is that you can buy the album plus an EP, which is a first for the Idol alumni. This mini-bonus is titled the The Smoakstack Sessions (I got the spelling right, thank you), and it comes with the Deluxe edition of the album. It has six tracks comprised by acoustic versions of 4 songs from the album, plus an acoustic version of ‘If I Can’t Have You’, a track from All I Ever Wanted, and a cover of the classic hit ‘I Can’t Make You Love Me’




  1. Mr. Know It All

  2. What Doesn’t Kill You (Stronger)

  3. Dark Side

  4. Honestly

  5. You Love Me

  6. Einstein

  7. Standing In Front Of You

  8. I Forgive You

  9. Hello

  10. The War Is Over

  11. Let Me Down

  12. You Can’t Win

  13. Breaking Your Own Heart

  14. Don’t You Wanna Stay [Deluxe Edition Bonus Track]

  15. Alone [Deluxe Edition Bonus Track]

  16. Don’t Be A Girl About It [Deluxe Edition Bonus Track]

  17. The Sun Will Rise [Deluxe Edition Bonus Track]

The Smoakstack Sessions:

  1. Hello

  2. The War Is Over

  3. You Love Me

  4. The Sun Will Rise

  5. If I Can’t Have You

  6. I Can’t Make You Love Me

 Why Don’t You Try [Bonus Track]


About Author

Leave A Reply