How To Manage Wheat Allergies

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Wheat allergies involve individuals who are sensitive to certain wheat proteins, such as glutenin and gliadin, which can trigger allergic reactions in the form of asthma, eczema, and anaphylactic shock. Anyone with this allergy must avoid all wheat products. The following contains tips on how to manage wheat allergies. Please note that celiac disease, which is the body’s inability to process gluten, is not a form of wheat allergy, though individuals with celiac disease do have similar dietary restrictions as those with wheat allergies.

Avoid wheat-containing foods, such as breads, cookies, cakes, bread crumbs, crackers, couscous, cracker meal, pasta, and many cereals.

Avoid wheat-containing ingredients, such as gluten, gelatinized starch, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, vital gluten, wheat bran, wheat germ, wheat gluten, vegetable gum, and vegetable starch.

Carry either an Epi-Pen or prescribed medicine at all times in case of inadvertent exposure.

Try grains that are not a close relative of wheat, which include amaranth, buckwheat, quinoa, corn, rice, arrowroot, tapioca, oats, and millet.

Avoid using spelt and kamut, which are usually touted as wheat substitutes. Kamut is a subspecies of wheat, and there seems to be no difference between the two. Spelt contains a protein called gliadin, which is the same protein that often triggers wheat allergies.

Try wheat-free pasta, such as Annie’s Homegrown Gluten-Free Rice Pasta or Annie’s Cheddar Mac & Cheese.

Try wheat-free baking mixes for breads, pancakes, pizza crusts, and cakes, such as Bob’s Red Mill, Cherrybrook Kitchen, Authentic Foods, and Pamela’s.

Try frozen, ready-to-eat wheat-free foods and snacks made by Ian’s Glutino, Amy’s, Kinnikinnick, among others.

Research and educate yourself on all wheat-containing ingredients, as well as, how to read all food label carefully. For example, there are some brands of hot dogs, seafood, and even ice cream that contain wheat.

Ask for a list of ingredients when dinning out. Some restaurants may already provide a wheat-free menu.

Ask your local health food store for any wheat-free food or cookbook suggestions.

Share.

About Author

Leave A Reply