Foods with Gluten
Visiting a vegetarian restaurant for the first time will make you wonder what type of edible meat-like food is incorporated in a soup served to you. The moment you begin to eat, you are delighted that it is sumptuous and at the same time nutritious. The moment you ask what that food is, they tell you that it is a type of food with gluten.
What is Gluten?
Gluten is typically found in wheat and in other grain family but it is a common misconception to associate gluten to be simply grain. Gluten is actually a component of grain and cereal which means that not all grain stuff will have an inclusion of gluten to their component.
Does it have good effect on our bodies?
Another misconception about Gluten is that most food products are labelled if they have gluten or not. This drives people to think that gluten is generally bad for the body. Since meat are good sources of protein and so does wheat, Gluten can be a good substitute if you want to break free and start off lowering down your cholesterol level from excessive meat intake. It is also a good way to alleviate so much meat intake that may alter blood pressure and can cause heart ailments. Gluten has its good effect on the bodies of health conscious people as well as those who opt to eat vegetables and other meat substitutes.
There are a lot of foods with gluten. Take a look at the following for your reference to foods with gluten:
List of Foods that contain Gluten. If you are looking for Gluten Free food you should avoid this.
- Biscuits or Cookies
- Bulgar Wheat
- All Bran
- Barley Water Drinks
- Pastry or Pie Crust
- Anything in breadcrumbs
- Malted drinks
- Crisp breads
- Crumble toppings
- Some Breakfast Cereals
- Breadcrumb Ham
If you notice, food products are specifically labelled if they have gluten content or not. That is because there are those people who cannot eat foods containing gluten due to allergies. These allergies are caused by a disease called Celiac disease which is known to the abnormal immune responses of a person to gluten intake. Among 0% to 1% of Americans are known to have this kind of abnormalities making them double safety on food intake. A thorough check on food without gluten content is observed by these people to ensure that the food they take will not trigger allergies caused by this kind of disease. Visit a doctor or a geneticist if you have doubts of having Celiac disease because a person who cannot digest gluten properly does not mean that he or she actually has this allergy.
Since gluten is not really a part of the regular human diet and is only used as a substitute to meat products for mostly vegetarians, not able to eat it will not make you any less as a person or rather abnormal. You can still opt to try other vegetarian products and not just this substitute for meat. After all, if you are suppressing gluten allergies, you have to be sure of your health condition before gobbling on that meat substitute, thinking that it’s healthy for you.