Team India Winners World Cup 1983

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

After dominating the first two World Cup cricket championships in 1975 and 1979 the West Indian shackle was broken by India, when they beat the West Indies by 43 runs in the final at the Lord’s Cricket grounds on June 23rd 1983.

After 28 long years, India who could not make much of an impact in the last 2007 World Cup held in the West Indies, and were eliminated in the tournament became the proud recipients of the coveted World Cup in their own soil this year, the Wankede Stadium in Mumbai where they won the final will no doubt linger in the cricket crazy Indian public minds.

The 1983 final was a low scoring affair, when the West Indian captain Clive Lloyd won the toss and asked the Indians to bat and were dismissed for 183 in 54.4 overs in a 60 overs per side copetition. In that area there were no field restrictions,power plays, thrity yard circles etc. and a bowler was allowed tho bowl a stipulated number of 12 overs.

India were soon in trouble losing Sunil Gavaskar for 2 with only two runs on the board. But hard hitting Krish Srikanth batted aggressively to score 38 and with Mohinder Amarnath brought the score upto 59. With a useful 27 by Sandeep Patil, India managed to reach a disappointing 183 runs, leaving the powerful West Indian batting machinery to get only 184 runs to win.

The West Indian vaunted pace attack of the fastest bowlers in the world at that time, Andy Roberts,Joel Garner, Malcom Marshall and Micheal Holding gave no respite to the Indian batsmen Sunil Gavaskar, Krish Srikanth. However, Sri Kanth remained the top scorer with 38 facing 57 deliveries with seven fours, Andy Roberts was the pick of the bowler taking 3 for 32 in 10 overs. Marshall Holding and Gomes took2 wickets a piece.

Taking into account, the paltry total of 183 acored by India, it was a foregone conclusion that the might of the West Indian batting which included the likes of Gordon Greenidge, Desmond Haynes,Vivian Richards,Clive Lloyd and Larry Gomes could complete a hat-trick of wins without expanding too much time.

But the West Indian batsmen soon found the boot on the other foot when the Indian medium pace attack coprising skipper  Kapil Dev, Balwinder Singh Sandu,Madan Lal and Mohinder Amaranath denting the West Indian early batting. Sandu and Madan  Lal got rid of the most feared openers at that time Gordon Greenidge and Desmond Haynes with 50 runs on the board and there after none of the West Indian batsmen really dominated the bowling as they usually did.

After the dismissal of one drop batsmen Vivian Richards who was the top scorer with 33 caught by Kapil Dev to a superb running catch, the rest of the Caribbean batsmen succumbed to the immensepressure inserted by the Indian bowlers.

There was nothing spectacular in the Indian bowling, but it was a steady medium pace attack which  included skipper Kapil Dev, Madan Lal,Roger Binny and Mohinder ‘Jimmy’ Amaranath.

Played at Lord’s London on 23rd June 1983.


About Author

Leave A Reply