Friday, December 15

Top Five San Diego Padres Pitching Win Leaders

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Eric Show: 100 wins

The San Diego Padres’ all-time wins leader is right-hander Eric Show. Show was a stable presence in the Padres’ starting pitching rotation throughout the 1980s. After making his Major League debut in 1981, Show won ten-plus games in each of the next four years. He tallied 15 wins three times and served as the Padres’ number one starter during the 1984 season when they reached their first World Series. In 1,603.1 innings with the team, he had a 3.59 ERA and became the first Padre to reach 100 wins.

Jake Peavy: 92 wins

Former ace Jake Peavy is the most recent pitcher to become one of the top five San Diego Padres’ all-time wins leaders. Peavy made his debut with the Padres in 2002 and remained with the team until a trade sent him to the White Sox in 2009. During his time in San Diego, Peavy was one of the best pitchers in baseball. In 2004, he compiled a 15-6 record with the best ERA in the NL with a 2.27 mark. His 2007 season was one of the greatest pitching performances in recent history. Peavy took home the 2007 NL Cy Young Award by winning the triple crown with 19 wins, a 2.54 ERA, and 240 strikeouts in 223.1 innings.

Randy Jones: 92 wins

A great southpaw starter in the 1970s, Randy Jones is tied for second on the San Diego Padres’ all-time wins leaders list. Jones had two fantastic seasons in 1975 and 1976 as a bright spot on some bad Padres teams. In 1975, he won 20 games with a National League-leading 2.24 ERA. He followed his breakout performance by winning the first Cy Young Award in Padres’ history with 22 wins on a 2.74 ERA and 1.03 WHIP in 1976. Jones had a 3.30 ERA in eight seasons with the Padres and 100 career wins in ten years in the Majors.

Ed Whitson: 77 wins

Ed Whitson pitched for five teams from 1977 to 1991, doing his best work in San Diego to become one of the Padres’ all-time wins leaders. Whitson bounced around the Major Leagues for the first half of his career, earning a single All-Star appearance during a stop in San Francisco. He settled down in San Diego in 1986 and pitched his final six seasons with the team as a reliable inning-eating starter. Whitson had four straight seasons of double-digit wins for the Padres including a 16-win year in 1989 when he had a 2.66 ERA in 227 innings.

Andy Ashby: 70 wins

A two-time All-Star in the 1990s, righty Andy Ashby ranks fifth among the San Diego Padres’ all-time wins leaders. Though he struggled in stints with the Phillies and Dodgers, Ashby thrived in his prime with eight seasons in San Diego. From 1993 to 1999, Ashby had a 3.59 ERA in 1,212 innings with the Padres. His career year came in 1998 when he won a career-high 17 games with a 3.34 ERA in 226.2 innings to earn his first All-Star appearance. As the Padres’ second starter, he was a major part of the team that reached the 1998 World Series.


About Author

Leave A Reply