South Africa vs West Indies Cricket World Cup 2011 Preview

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

NEW DELHI is ready to welcome guests from South Africa and West Indies for the seventh match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, which will be played at Delhi’s historical Feroz Shah Kotla stadium on Thursday, February 24. Both South Africa and West Indies, who feature in the group ‘B’ teams, will start their ICC Cricket World cup 2011 campaign with this match.
South Africa, one of the strongest contenders of the world’s biggest cricketing event, have never won tournament. Whereas, West Indies lifted the Cricket World Cup trophy last time 32 years back in the 1979 World Cup.
In the 50 ODIs played between South Africa and West Indies, the Proteas have won 37 times and the Caribbeans tasted victory 12 times. Both the teams had met four times in the Cricket World Cup and won two times each, and interestingly, all four matches have been won by the team batting first.
South African captain Graeme Smith, Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis and Jacques Kallis can change the match any time in their favour. In the bowling department Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel and Lonwabo Tsotsobe can destroy any batting line-up. South Africans are equally balanced in the fielding department. In the last five matches, the Proteas have won four matches and lost one against India.
Prior to the Cricket World Cup 2011, West Indies won one warm-up match against Kenya by 61 runs and lost to Sri Lanka by four wickets in the second warm-up match. The West Indian batting mainly depends on Chris Gayle, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shivnarine Chanderpaul. However, Darren Bravo and Kieron Pollard are very useful players for the side.
Here is the squad of South Africa and West Indies for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011:
South Africa: Graeme Smith (capt), Hashim Amla, Johan Botha, AB de Villiers (wk), JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Colin Ingram, Jacques Kallis, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn, Imran Tahir, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Morne van Wyk (wk).
West Indies: Darren Sammy (Capt), Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Darren Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Devon Smith, Sulieman Benn, Nikita Miller, Andre Rusell, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Kirk Edwards, Devon Thomas (wk).

Read here for more information related to ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 and Cricket World Cup Points Tables.


About Author

Leave A Reply