Classification of Living Organisms

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

                           Classification of the Living Organism

       Living organisms are classified on the basis of their characteristics in relation to their form and function. Out off many characteristics some appeared earlier in their body design while others have come into existence later.

What are the various systems of classification: Living beings have been classified in different ways from time to time by different workers. All living beings are classified into broad categories called kingdoms.

Two kingdom system of classification: This system of classification was given by Carl Von Linnaeus.  According this system the whole living beings are put into two kingdoms- Plant Kingdom and Animal kingdom. This division was later on criticized as it failed to classify microorganisms like Euglena, which characters of both plants and animals or Fungi which bears some characters not common to plants.

Later on three kingdoms of classification of living beings were given by Ernst Haeckel a German Zoologist, who solved the two Kingdom systems. He put the whole living being into Ptotista Kingdom plant kingdom and animal kingdom. All unicellular plants and animals were put under Kingdom Protista.

Five-Kingdom system of classification: An American Ecologist R.H. Whittaker proposed a five kingdom system of classification in which the whole living world has been classified into the following five kingdoms:

 1. Kingdom Monera (Prokaryotic bacteria and blue green algae)

 2. Kingdom Protista (unicellular Eukaryotic organisms like protozoans and algae)

 3. Kingdom Plantae (All multicellular green plants and advanced forms of algae)

 4. Kingdom Fungi (Multicellular fungi)

5. Kingdom Animalia (All multicellular organisms)


About Author

Leave A Reply