Monday, December 18

Know About Mysql Storage Engines

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

MySQL supports various types of storage engines. These engines include both – transaction-safe and nontransaction-safe features. Some of those storage engines are as follows

  • MyISAM
  • CSV

In brief we will see some basic features of above storage engines –

MyISAM : It is not transaction-compliant hence it manages nontransaction tables. It is the default storage engine. 

MERGE : It is a collection of identical MyISAM tables that can be used as one.All the tables must have identical column and index information.

MEMORY :It is also known as HEAP engine. This is used to deal with temporary tables (in-memory tables).

INNODB :  It is transaction-compliant.It support FOREIGN KEY referential-integrity constraints.

EXAMPLE: It is a stub engine that does nothing. This is an example in the MySQL source code that describes how to start writing new storage engines.

ARCHIVE : It is used for storing large amounts of data without indexes. It compresses data and it is good for log storage or storing something which needs no updates and no indexes.
Data cannot be deleted from this table, only added.

CSV : It stores data in text files by using comma as a delimiter.

BLACKHOLE : It works like a black hole that receives data but throws it away and it does not store it. Retrievals always return an empty result.

FEDERATED : It enables data to be accessed from a remote MySQL database on a local server.

NDBCLUSTER or NDB : particularly for applications that need the highest possible degree of uptime and availability. It is not supported in standard  MySQL 5.1


About Author

Leave A Reply