Saturday, December 16

Flip Skateboards History

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Flip Skateboards originally started in the UK in the early 1990s as a sister company to Death Box Skateboards and the successor to Bash Skateboards.
The original team was Christian Heitmann as their first pro. Elton Whybrow, Chris Weinekker, Ivan Jenson, and Luke McKirdy made up the rest of the group.

Flip moved from the UK to California in July 1994, Jeremy Fox, Ian Deacon, and Geoff Rowley were the first to arrive, team riders Tom Penny, Rune Glifberg moved in 95. At this point the team consisted of four pros – Tom Penny, Geoff Rowley, Rune Glifberg and Andy Scott

The company went on to become one of the world’s biggest and most well known skateboard companies.

Four members have won the prestigious Thrasher Skater of the Year Award: Bob Burnquist in 1997 (though he was sponsored by Anti-Hero at the time), Geoff Rowley in 2000, Arto Saari in 2001, and Mark Appleyard in 2003. Mark also won best street skater in Transworld skateboarding magazine. Mark has since left to join Element skateboards.

Notable team members include Bob Burnquist, Rune Glifberg, Lance Mountain, Tom Penny, and Geoff Rowley. Other riders include Ali Boulala, Luan Oliveria, Rodrigo TX, David Gonzalez. Am riders include Curren Caples, Louie Lopez, Andrew Langi, Ben Nordberg and Willow.


About Author

Leave A Reply