Historical Writer Phillippa Gregory And Her Books

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

A British historian and author, Philippa Gregory is most well-known for her historical fiction novels centered around the Tudor era and King Henry VIII’s court, although her work is not limited to that time period. As historian, radio and TV personality, and a novelist, Gregory’s historical fiction works span a time period of more than 500 years.

Gregory’s Biography

Gregory was born in Kenya in 1954 and moved to England with her family when she was two years old. She graduated from Sussex University and later went on to attend Edinburgh University, where she graduated with a doctorate in 18th century literature in 2009.

Gregory has been married three times and has two children and six stepchildren. She now lives on a farm near Yorkshire with her children, stepchildren and husband, Anthony Mason. She raises horses, hens and ducks.

Gregory also founded and runs a charity called Gardens for The Gambia, which finances and builds wells in schools in Gambia so women and children can learn market gardening skills. Donations can be made to Gregory’s charity on her website, listed at the bottom of this page.

Books by Philippa Gregory

Gregory wrote her first book novel, Wideacre, while working on her doctorate degree as Edinburgh. She since has branched out and written on a variety of historical topics, ranging from the 15th century all the way through the 20th century. The Tudor era is her favorite topic to write on, according to her website. She also recently has begun to write about the Plantagenet era.

Several of Gregory’s early books, such as Fallen Skies, for example, have gone out of print. Because of Gregory’s growing notoriety and popularity, however, Fallen Skies and others have been brought back into production.

Here is a complete list of Gregory’s novels as of August 2010:

Plantagenet Era:
The Red Queen
The White Queen

Tudor Era:
The Constant Princess
The Other Boleyn Girl
The Boleyn Inheritance
The Queen’s Fool
The Virgin’s Lover
The Other Queen
The Wise Woman

17th Century:
Earth Joys
Virgin Earth

18th Century:
The Favoured Child
A Respectable Trade

20th Century:
Fallen Skies
Zelda’s Cut
The Little House
Alice Hartleys Happiness
Perfectly Correct
Bread and Chocolate

Visit Philippa Gregory’s website or buy Philippa Gregory novels today.


About Author

Leave A Reply