How to Disable The Windows Update Restart Prompt

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

After Windows installs an update, a nag window will pop up informing you that your computer has been updated and needs to be restarted. You are given the options to restart now or restart later. If you choose restart later, the window will open again in 10 minutes (if you’re using Windows XP.  You will be given an option to delay the window up to 4 hours in Windows Vista and Windows 7) once again suggesting you restart. If you don’t click “restart later’ within 5 minutes of the prompt appearing, Windows will automatically restart your computer.  This automatic and often unwanted restart can cause you to lose saved work and interupt background tasks such as a long download.

So if you wish to prevent the computer form restarting, you will have to click “restart later” whenever the restart window (which steals focus from whatever application you’re currently using) appears.  This window will keep appearing at a set interval.  This can be annoying for obvious reasons so it may be in your best interest to disable this prompt.

To disable the restart prompt, perform the following steps:

1. Click the Start Button (Alternatively, you can press the windows key + R and skip Step 2))

2. From the Start menu, open the Run dialogue box.

3. Type in cmd and press enter.

4. You should now have a command line window open. In this window, simply type sc stop wuauserv and press enter.

This will temporarily disable the update service and prevent the restart prompt from appearing until the next time you restart Windows.

Share.

About Author

Leave A Reply