Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy Winners Still Scoring Professionally

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

The Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy is awarded every year to the leading point-getter in the OHL. There are currently 11 recipients of the Eddie Powers Trophy still playing in organized professional hockey.

 The oldest is Andrew Brunette who won the award in 1992-93 while playing for the Owen Sound Platers. Andrew is currently in the NHL with the Minnesota Wild.

 The newest is last year’s recipient, John Tavares. John split the season between the Oshawa Generals and the London Knights. He was, of course, taken first overall by the New York Islanders and is doing his best to be the new leader of that club.

 Three of the players still active today won the trophy twice. These are Marc Savard with the Oshawa Generals in 1994-95 and 1996-97; Peter Sarno in 1997-98 with the Windsor Spitfires and in 1998-99 with the Sarnia Sting; Corey Locke with the Ottawa 67’s in 2002-03 and 2003-04.

 The 11 players are spread over only 7 of the OHL’s teams. The London Knights claim 4 of the 11 Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy winners, including 4 of the last 5 years.

The full list is as follows with each player’s year that they won the Eddie Powers and the team they played for during the 2009-10 seaon:

 Andrew Brunette, Owen Sound Platers, 1992-93. Currently with Minnesota Wild of the NHL.

 Marc Savard, Oshawa Generals, 1994-95 and 1996-97. Currently with Boston Bruins of the NHL.

 Peter Sarno, Windsor Spitfires in 1997-98 and Sarnia Sting in 1998-99. Currently with Wolfsburg Grizzly Adams of the DEL in Germany.

 Kyle Wellwood, Belleville Bulls in 2000-01. Currently with Vancouver Canucks of the NHL.

 Nathan Robinson, Belleville Bulls in 2001-02. Currently with Adler Mannheim of the DEL in Germany.

 Corey Locke, Ottawa 67’s in 2002-03 and 2003-04. Currently with Hartford Wolf Pack of the AHL.

 Corey Perry, London Knights in 2004-05. Currently with Anaheim Ducks of the NHL.

 Rob Schremp, London Knights in 2005-06. Currently with the New York Islanders of the NHL.

 Patrick Kane, London Knights in 2006-07. Currently with Chicago Black Hawks of the NHL.

 Justin Azevedo, Kitchener Rangers in 2007-08. Currently with Manchester Monarchs of the AHL.

 John Tavares, London Knights in 2008-09. Currently with New York Islanders of the NHL.


About Author

Leave A Reply