In California CA, determine that your car or truck is a lemon if it is any new vehicle, that has a substantial problem that isn’t fixed within a reasonable number of attempts, or that has had a certain number of days out of service. Even if it is a used vehicle, it may be protected under the lemon law of your state.
Three sets of laws apply to defective vehicles and products in the United States. So even if your state doesn’t have a state specific “Lemon Law”, you can still get support from one of the general federal laws. 1.The Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act 2.The Uniform Commercial Code 3.State-Specific Lemon Laws.
In general, most state-specific Lemon Laws say that a manufacturer must provide a refund or replacement for a defective new vehicle when a substantial defect cannot be fixed in four attempts, a safety defect within two attempts or if the vehicle is out of service for 30 days within the first 12,000 to 18,000 miles or 12 to 24 months.
Contact a California Lemon Law Attorney in your state to find out if you are covered under your the Alabama Lemon Law. Ask the lawyer for a free consultation to determine if your car or truck qualifies under your state’s Lemon Law. This is the best advice since each state has its own specific laws, and they do change from time to time.
Tips & Warnings
- Contact a Lemon Law Attorney for the most update info for your state