Wednesday, December 13

How Many Types of Grief Are There? Part Two

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

I wrote about two types of grief in my last article, Anticipatory grief and chronic grief. In part two I will be writing about Inhibited grief and delayed grief and also how the symptoms of grief are generally interpreted.

Inhibited grief:

A person will show little reaction to the death, but every unresolved grief is given expression in some form. Most common in children under the age of five. It is widely agreed that some forms of depression in adult life may be attributable to losses in childhood. As a couple grow older, they experience a process of disengagement a mutual severing of the ties between them and others in society.

Delayed grief:

This is when typical or chronic reaction occurs after a period of delay, during which the full expression of grief is inhibited. The grief maybe only be called to mind when some later loss is experienced. Crying, a normal reaction in grief, often absent in inhibited grief, has been linked with feelings of guilt.

How are the symptoms of grief generally interpreted?

Grief not only is felt by a death as grief is a reaction to loss, this loss could be a relationship breakup, loss of good health, losing a job, even a friendship breakdown.

The symptoms of grief are generally interpreted by referring to attempting and searching for a lost object in the hope of regaining it’s return. A grieving adult is said to revert back to a child’s perspective of being abandoned. The fear of abandonment the anger, and outward crying or screaming from a child all in order for the child to be reunited with their mother is said to be an interpretation of the symptoms of grief.

I know this is short and sweet thanks for reading I hope this article helps anyone that takes time to read it……


About Author

Leave A Reply