Monday, December 11

How Many Types of Grief Are There? Part One

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

How many types of grief are there? Each one has the same symptoms, as normal grief but the symptoms are prolonged. So what are they?

Six of the most common symptoms associated with normal grief are,

Irritability = Easily annoyed or angered at the slightest thing, and a lack of patience.

Insomnia = Sleep patterns are interrupted, with the person not sleeping for their minds can not settle due to the loss of the loved one.

Anorexia = Feelings have overwhelmed the grieving person and their appetite has been lost, the last thing on their mind is to eat as they feel what is the point.

Numbness = the grieving person would feel numbness within them selves with the shock of the loss, everything that had been seen important to them is pushed to one side.

Preoccupied with the thoughts of the dead person = the grieving person would be constantly thinking of the good and the bad times when the deceased was alive.

Guilt = the grieving person would feel that if they could have changed or done something different in any way they would have.

What is Anticipatory grief?

Anticipatory grief refers to the grief reaction that occurs before an impending loss, all the six feelings are incorporated into the list.

Denial = This can’t be happening to me,

Bargaining = Make this not happen and I will do……,

Depression = I am so sad to do anything,

Anger = Why is this happening to me who is to blame,

Anxiety = What am I going to do,

Dread = I know what is going to happen and I can’t stop it,

Guilt = I could have done something I should have done or said this,

Helplessness = No one can help me no one can make this stop,

Hopelessness = There is nothing I can do.

Chronic grief:

Chronic grief holds the normal emotions of grief but are persist without any diminution over time. With normal feelings of grief they would decline in there intensity but with chronic grief they do not and become more pronounced in the grieving person these feelings present themselves as a deep and pressing sorrow. The emotional attachment to the loss has not yet been broken leading to grieving person to have difficulty letting go and emotionally moving on.

While I was writing this I realised there many be to much information to take in all at once for me I like things 


About Author

Leave A Reply