The Five Kingdoms of Organisms

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Living things are called organisms. Each living thing can be placed in one of the five groups, known in science as “kingdoms.” The five kingdoms of organisms are animalia, fungi, monera, plantae, and protista.

Another word for animalia is “animals.” Animals have many cells and they move around by using their body’s nervous system. Unlike some other organisms, animals cannot make their own food. Their food comes from other plants and animals, which they must eat in order to produce energy. The organisms in this group or “kingdom” include amphibians, birds, fish, insects, mammals, mollusks, reptiles, spiders, sponges, and worms.

Fungi is otherwise known as “fungus organisms.” Fungus organisms are not plants. They do not have chlorophyll, which is what is required by plants to make their own food. Instead, fungi use a different method. They dissolve their food and then they absorb it into themselves. The organisms in this group include, but are not limited to, mildews, molds, mushrooms, penicillin, rusts, and yeasts.

Monera can also be called “monerans.” These organisms are microscopic and they only have one cell, which doesn’t exactly include a nucleus. The majority of moneran organisms eat by absorbing their food. The different organisms of this kingdom include bacteria and blue-green algae, but there are thousands of different kinds of monera.

Another word for plantae is “plants.” Plants have many cells and are known as green organisms. They use photosynthesis to make their own food. The organisms in this group include ferns, flowering plants, and mosses. The walls of their cells are rigid and contain cellulose.

Protista is otherwise known as “protists.” They are microorganisms and they usually only have one cell. The different organisms in this group can be similar to plants or animals. Protists all have cells with a nucleus, just like animals, fungus organisms, and plants do.


About Author

Leave A Reply