Israeli Bagrut (Israeli Matriculation/high School Diploma) Explained in English.

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Bagrut is the Israeli Matriculation certificate awarded to pupils who complete 12 years of study; pass the final external Ministry of Education state exams combined with their school test average and accumulate 21 yichidot.

The yichidot (learning units or credits) reflect the level of difficulty and number of classroom hours for each subject. Each subject can be studied at a study level ranging from 1 yichida (easiest level) to 5 yichidot (hardest level). Bonus points are given to those taking subjects at 4 and 5 yichidot.

Of the subjects studied there are three groups:

Compulsory subjects:

Hebrew – Composition and Grammar (minimum yichidot for passing Bagrut – 2), Bible study/tanach (2) – in religious schools there is a higher minimum requirement – Literature (2), History (1), Civics (3), Math (3) and English (3). Student may study these subjects at a higher level than the minimum.

Compulsory Elective Subjects:

 These are facultative subjects, or migimot, which indicates their area of general interest perhaps for a future career. These are chosen by the pupil from a group of 20 academic subjects and 20 technological subjects. They must study at least one of these Compulsory Elective Subjects. They include languages, Agriculture, Physics, Social Science, Economics, Geography, Accounting, Machine Control Management, Sales Promotion, Microbiology and Chemistry. These subjects are studied at 1, 3 or 5 yichidot according to the pupil’s ability.

Additional Elective Subjects:

The pupil can choose to study any of 100 subjects but does not have to choose any also their range of choice depends on what the school offers. Each subject carries its yichidot, according to its level of difficulty and classroom hours. So pupils can take these subjects to improve their over all number of yichidot.

*All subjects from the above three groups are acceptable for tertiary educational institutes. It is possible to progress from a lower level of yichidot to a higher one as the yichidot follow on, one from the other.

*All of the information appears on the Bagrut certificate, including all subjects studies at school, the school grade average, the number of yichidot gained in each subject, and the final external test score.

*In 9th grade (kita tet ט) all pupils study the compulsory subjects and the basic scientific and technical subjects.

*In 10th grade (kita yud י) they begin to specialize in the area of their choice, humanities, science or technology. These are called Migimot or trend/orientation/course of study, and can include a number of subjects related to the same field. Some Bagrut exams are done at the end of grade 10. 

*If the pupil achieves the 21 yichidot required he gets a “full Bagrut” certificate. If they don’t reach the 21 yichidot requirement they can still be awarded a School Final Certificate or Teudat Gmar, if they have at least passed one exam at the 1 yichida level. This certifies the completion of 12 years of school education.

* The minimum grade to pass the external bagrut exams is 55% or higher.

*If the pupil gets 39% or lower in any compulsory subject they are not awarded Bagrut.

*If the pupil gets 44% or lower in Hebrew Grammar or Hebrew composition they are not awarded Bagrut.

*If the pupil has received a grade of 44% or lower in any two compulsory subjects they do not get awarded Bagrut.

*The pupil must get 45% or higher in at least one 5 yichidot elective subject or they do not get awarded Bagrut.

* To attend University the pupil will need to have taken the 4 yichidot English Bagrut, and the 4 or 5 yichidot Math Bagrut, various University faculties have different entrance requirements.

*The Tsiun Magen or school test result counts for 50% of the final Bagrut result together with 50% of the final external exam result. In other words the final score is the average of the school grade and external grade put together.

Here are some terms you may encounter:

תעודת בגרות‎ – Teudat Bagrut, Matriculation certificate

יחידות – unit level/Yichidot/learning level/credits/ points. 1-5 levels of difficulty

מגימות – Megama, Trends/orientations/faculties/major area of study chosen at the end of 9/10th grade.

ציון – Tsiun / Grade/Mark.

תעודת גמר-Teudat Gmar Certificate of Completion.

מתכונת – Matkonet, practice tests done at school during the year.

הגשה – Hagasha, Submission. The pupil’s school grade based on tests throughout the year. This is also referred to as…

ציון מגן – Tsiun Megen, Protective Grade or grade that can pull your final Bagrut exam score up (or down) as the final Bagrut grade is a combination of this Hagasha and the Bagrut final exam.

– מועד ב’ A makeup exam offered in English and Math.

The rules and regulations change often, the latest idea is to include a grade for behaviour, so take this article as a general guide line, but be sure to do further research and see if anything has changed or if other rules apply in your area or to your child.


About Author

Leave A Reply