Michael Jackson Thriller on Vinyl LP Record

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Michael Jackson’s album Thriller was his sixth studio album.  It has sold over 100  million copies.  It was released on November 30, 1982 on the Epic Records label,  a division of Columbia records. There were  7 top ten singles and it won 8 grammy awards.  It was 1 of 3 albums to stay on the top 10 for over a year.

It featured guests like Paul McCartney on their duet The Girl Is Mine, Eddie Van Halen doing a guitar solo on Beat It, Vincent Price doing a voice over on Thriller and his sisters Janet & Latoya singing backup on PYT (pretty young thing)

The original vinyl jacket had a gatefold cover with a picture of Michael laying down on the front and inside with a baby Tiger.  The inner vinyl sleeve was white with a drawing of Michael & Paul struggling with a girl like she is a wishbone on one side.  The other side had a drawing of a couple watching TV while monsters like Frankenstein and others were all around them.

In 2001, the album was re-released titled Thriller: Special Edition and in 2008,  a deluxe 25th anniversary version was released with extra tracks.

  1. I Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’
  2. Baby Be Mine
  3. The Girl Is Mine with Paul McCartney
  4. Thriller
  5. Beat It (single version) with Eddie Van Halen on guitar
  6. Billie Jean (single version
  7. Human Nature
  8. P.Y.T. (pretty young thing)
  9. The Lady In My Life
  10. Vincent price exerpt
  11. The Girl is Mine 2008 with willi.i.am
  12. P.Y.T. 2008
  13. Wanna Be Startin’ Something 2008
  14. Beat It 2008  with Fergie
  15. Billie Jean 2008 with Kanye West
  16. For All Time (unreleased track from the original Thriller sessions
  17. Got the Hots (released only in Japan

After Michael Jackson’s death Thriller set additional records.   Songs from Thriller also helped Jackson to become the first act to sell over 1 million song downloads in a week.


About Author

Leave A Reply